Yes, patients in Virginia can possess up to one ounce of medical cannabis. They are also allowed to grow up to four plants per household.
The state has a highly regulated marijuana industry with pharmaceutical processors that grow, extract, and dispense their products. These are called vertically integrated companies. They are the only licensed providers in the state.
Medicinal marijuana (cannabis) treats or eases symptoms of certain debilitating medical conditions. It is composed of more than 100 chemicals that are grouped into cannabinoids. It is believed that these can help with various debilitating conditions, such as pain, muscle spasms, seizures, depression, anxiety, nausea, and chronic diseases like cancer.
Virginia law allows practitioners to certify patients for medicinal marijuana by providing a written certification or referral. It allows the patient to access cannabis products from a licensed dispensary. Patients may purchase THC-A and CBD oil or four ounces of botanical cannabis (flower) per 30 days.
Virginia law only allows one pharmaceutical cannabis processor per Health Service Area, so the state only has a limited number of marijuana product types available. Products can contain THC, CBD, a combination of both, or a range of other chemical compounds such as CBG, which has anti-inflammatory properties and has been shown to help prevent the spread of colorectal cancer, and THCV, which has been found to lower insulin levels in patients with type 2 diabetes.
Schedule of Use
In Virginia, patients diagnosed with a condition that could benefit from cannabis use may legally obtain medical marijuana with a doctor’s prescription. The state allows registered users to purchase CBD or THC-A oil, creams, tinctures, gels, tablets, troches, or inhalation products from pharmaceutical processors. HB 1862 prevents employers from firing or discriminating against employees for using medical marijuana outside of work. Individuals are permitted to grow and maintain a maximum of six plants and utilize them to produce extracts in the comfort of their own homes. However, the VBOP may revoke the registrations of those who misrepresent themselves in the application process or break other marijuana laws.
To purchase medicinal marijuana from dispensaries, patients must have a legitimate driver’s license or other form of ID and a written certification. These documents are verified in a database maintained by the Virginia Medical Cannabis Information, but only a licensed doctor is qualified to make diagnoses and give recommendations to patients. Licensed doctors can offer their patients a 90-day supply of medical marijuana, and only one patient or designated caregiver can purchase the maximum amount at once. Patients must attach a legible tag to each plant with their name, driver’s license or ID number, and a notation that the plant is grown for personal, medicinal purposes as authorized by law.
Medicinal Marijuana Products
The state allows qualifying patients to obtain cannabis from licensed marijuana dispensaries with written certifications by physicians registered with the State Board of Pharmacy and a government ID. They can also grow and cultivate up to four plants at home. However, they can only possess, transport, and cultivate plants with THC levels below 10 MG/mL.
They must attach a legible tag to each plant with their name, driver’s license or ID number, and a note indicating that the plant is for personal use only as permitted. Adults 21 and over can also designate a caregiver to assist them.
However, some medical marijuana patients have difficulty accessing their needed products because of supply constraints and high costs. It has led them to turn to the black market, where products are often cheaper and can be of higher quality. However, this can be risky, as the products are not screened for heavy metals and pesticides.
Dispensaries licensed and regulated by the state sell medical marijuana products to patients. It means that the dispensaries are held to rigorous quality control standards and have a team of professionals overseeing all production aspects.
Patients have various cannabis options, including sprays, capsules, oils, tinctures, tablets, troches, lollipops, and patches. A maximum of 4 ounces of botanical cannabis can be purchased within 30 days.
The first step is to find a physician that can recommend medical marijuana. There are plenty of qualified practitioners in Virginia, so finding one shouldn’t be too difficult. After approval, you can obtain your card by registering online and visiting a dispensary with your written documentation: certification and photo ID. You can also grow your medical cannabis at home if you prefer. Be sure to attach a legible tag to each plant and follow the state’s guidelines for growing.
Medical Marijuana Cards
Many patients hesitate to seek natural relief when managing chronic pain, anxiety, and fibromyalgia because of the stigma associated with marijuana. However, with the help of the state medical cannabis program and a medical marijuana card, citizens can legally access therapeutic products such as CBD or THC oils, capsules, creams, gels, tablets, troches, and lollipops from licensed dispensaries in the state.
It would be best if you had a diagnosis from a qualified doctor or nurse practitioner to obtain a medicinal marijuana card in Virginia. It is done through a consultation and examination session. The state maintains a list of registered practitioners to help you find one. However, finding the right doctor and booking an appointment can take days or weeks.